SidusHQ Singer, Yeon Ji Hoo, Debuts with a “Trot Pop” Twist

YJH Te Amo

YJH "Te Amo" Album Cover

From her debut mini album, Te Amo, “Go Go Sister (Queen)” is a mix of older trot style and modern pop style.

Now, I’m not an expert in Korean, but from the title and from the part of the lyrics I CAN understand, this girl is either very fond of her 언니 (older sister) or she IS the older sister. She calls her “sister”/herself (?) 왕언니~ which is to say that her sister/she is a Queen (which is also in the title of the song). So this “Queen Sister” is really special to her and seems to be someone she looks up to/or IS that very cool sister herself. I can’t be sure until someone fluent in Korean translates it, but there seem to be references to her sister’s clothes and makeup and it seems to be generally positive.

[UPDATE]: My friend in Korea told me that she IS talking about herself as the older sister :)

Also, according to this friend, it seems to be that she is telling the listeners, her younger “sisters” to follow her example and that she is the best older sister they can look up to. So THAT’S why all her dancers sort of fawn around her! Sounds kinda full of herself now :/~

However, there are a couple of lines where she says that something is not a dream, or isn’t her dream anymore (depending on which abysmal online translator used). That makes me wonder if some part of this song is darker than the upbeat tempo would suggest, but what I can get from it is that all her awesomeness and desires are not JUST a dream, it’s not just her imagination and that she’ll spread her dreams wide again.  That would match the mood of the song better!

The opening of the song says her Queen Sister went…somewhere~ The word 나간다 means “go out” or “exit” so maybe this song is about her sister/older friend that left? For what? I have yet to find out :).  [UPDATE]: This, thanks to my friend, just meant the “Go go” part of her song :). “I am Queen Sister! Queen Sister Go GO!” Since most of her music video is her singing in pretty and glittering clothes in brightly lit rooms, it’s hard for non-Korean speakers like me to get much more meaning out of the video. I enjoy videos with obvious story lines :) It’s more foreigner-friendly~

The music video is like a lot of kpop videos~ artists in big rooms singing and dancing. The only thing is, Yeon Ji Hoo doesn’t do much of any dancing. Her vast number of backup dancers did the job for her. It’s both strange and refreshing. It’s strange because most kpop singers are also dancers–or, at least, they dance with their group. It’s refreshing because finally, it seems that they’re concentrating more on the singer’s talent and message rather than the ability to “shake it.” That could be just for this song though. Maybe Yeon Ji Hoo will “break it down” for her fans later :).

Now, many kpop videos have a signature dance move or defining gesture that fans can easily imitate. YJH’s signature gesture? A thumbs up! It’s actually a pretty common gesture among friends and its meaning is similar to the West’s meaning of something is “good” or “cool.” In this case, the thumbs up is for herself as “Queen Sister.” Here it is:

I am Queen Sister!

I really like it because when that part of the song comes, I can show my kpop literacy by imitating the signature move…something almost all kpop enthusiasts enjoy– or so I hear :) From experience…it tends to crack my Korean friends up :D.

Now, if you can read Korean (like me!), here are the lyrics to sing along to! ^^
To those who would like a “romanization” I suggest just taking an intensive week of memorizing the Korean alphabet and then testing yourself by learning to read the lyrics of your favorite songs on your own. You know what it sounds like so practice practice! It’s actually how I learned to read and write Korean and trust me, thanks to Sejong DaeWang, it’s super easy and logical to follow!

Korean Lyrics: (source: http://ysh15481.tistory.com/740)
왕언니다 ~ 왕언니다 왕언니가 나간다 (I am Queen Sister~ I am Queen Sister, Queen Sister Go Go!)
1절: 매력없다 볼것없다 깍쟁이라 ([They say I am] not attractive, not charming)
불리는 여자라지만 (and a snobbish girl, but)
누구보다 잘난여자 팔방미인 언니가 간다 기죽지 않는다 (I am a great woman and am good at many things, Go Go Sister, I’m never depressed!)

2절 때론 화려한 화장을 하고 (Sometimes [I put on] splendid makeup, and)
화려한 옷을 입고 화려한 꿈도 꾸지만 ([I] Wear gorgeous clothes, and [I] also have splendid dreams but,)
그건꿈이 아니야~나의 꿈이 아니야 (It’s not just a dream~ It’s not my dream)
내 꿈을 다시 펼쳐라 ([I’ll] Spread my dreams again)

후렴)누구보다 멋진 언니가 간다 (Go go, I am the most awesome sister)

다시 또 언니가 왔다 (I’ve (big sister) returned again)
쓰러지지 않는 왕언니 란다 (I am the unbeatable big sister)
멋진 꿈을 향해 언니가 나간다 (I am running towards my awesome dream. Go Go Sister!)

(간주)
2절반복)때론 화려한 화장을 하고 (Sometimes [I put on] gorgeous makeup, and)
화려한 옷을 입고 ([I] Wear gorgeous clothes)
화려한 꿈도 꾸지만 ([I] also have splendid dreams, but)
그건꿈이 아니야~나의 꿈이 아니야 (It’s not just a dream~ It’s not my dream)
내 꿈을 다시 펼쳐라 ([I’ll] Spread my dreams again)

후렴반복) 누구보다 멋진 언니가 간다 (Go Go, I am the most awesome sister!)
다시 또 언니가 왔다 (I’ve (big sister) returned again)
쓰러지지 않는 왕언니 란다 (I am the unbeatable big sister)
멋진 꿈을 향해 언니가 나간다 (I am running towards my awesome dream. Go Go Sister!)

후렴반복)누구보다 멋진 언니가 간다 (Go go, I am the most awesome sister)
다시 또 언니가 왔다 (I’ve (big sister) returned again)
쓰러지지 않는 왕언니 란다 (I am the unbeatable big sister)
멋진 꿈을 향해 언니가 나간다 (I am running towards my awesome dream. Go Go Sister!)
언니가 간다 왕언니 (Sister Go Go, Queen Sister!)

Now, I am not an expert in Korean, I am beginning level at best so I can’t provide much of a translation >.< However, I will work on translating what I know and if someone else translates it, I’ll include it and give credit. :)

[UPDATE]: With much help from my friend, who wishes to remain anonymous for whatever mysterious reason, I’ve translated it the best I can! When the other translations come out, I’ll see how close I got! ^^

Here’s the video!

Now for the poll. It seems that there is at least a couple debuts every week or so and not all of them last. So this week, the question is:

Please comment! I would love to hear what you think about this combo of young and old style kpop! ^^ And if you can translate it, please let me know! Any help is appreciated! :)

Song Info:

언니가 간다 (Go go Sister)

아티스트 (Artist): 연지후 (Yeon Ji Hoo)
앨범정보 (Album Info):  정규, Studio
타이틀 곡 (Title) : 언니가 간다
장르 (Genre):  가요 (Pop) > 트로트 (Trot)
발매정보 (Release Info): 2011.11.28
기획/유통 (Planning/Distribution): sidus HQ | CJ E&M
About Seoulody

Just ask!
This entry was posted in MV Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

