I Don’t Care~ Keeping it C-REAL!

C-Real’s Debut is a couple of months old by now, but when I came upon it, I really liked it, the concept and the lyrics!

"Five member IU!"

What stood out for me right away was a few similarities with a couple of YG artists concepts and costume accessories for past MV’s, namely, G-Dragon and 2NE1.

First, the easy one. Did you notice Effie’s (?) glove?

I hadz it first!

Ok~ now for the really amusing part…did the similarities to 2NE1’s “I Don’t Care,” stand out? I’m not saying they plagiarized anything, not at all. Different stories often occur similarly, but these two stories are pretty close to each other in some ways.

First, both C-Real and 2NE1 visit Voodoo Mama JuJu in order to find out what their boyfriend(s), are doing because they suspect them of cheating.

VooDoo Mama JuJu

She appears in 2NE1’s video, but it seems that C-Real borrowed the crystal ball…or maybe they are apprentices of VMJ? (They do seem able to do magic, more on this later).

In 2NE1’s video, all four girls see their different boyfriends cheating on them:

Oh Hell Nah!

In C-Real’s video, the girl’s see the one guy, who happens to be Sandara Park’s brother, Thunder (They got the sibling in theirs! HAHAHAHA).

I am Sandara's Bro! Sup?

Heh heh heh

Whose boyfriend is he? As in many K-Pop videos, it’s all for one and one for all:

NYA!

Their lyrics are also pretty similar:

2NE1

Every day, your phone’s always off
It doesn’t seem like you’re going to change oh oh

My friends say that you’re not really worth it
You even went to your wolf-like friends for advice but
I’d rather keep it simple, I’m too good for you
I believed you were my love but oh oh

C-Real

Every night at 11 PM your phone is off
Where are you and what are you doing – I am mad

My friends tell me to break up with you right away
They say that I should never trust a guy like you
But what do I do, what is wrong with me?
I like you more than I like my friends

Still, I’m not saying they plagiarized! Here is the deal: 34% of Korean men cheat. Simple. So there’s going to be lots of songs that sound the same because lots of women go through the same thing. Even MinWoo warns women to not trust men:

The difference in the songs comes out in how the girls handle their cheating man.

2NE1’s Solution:

From today on, I’ll be a bad girl who makes guys cry
Now without a single tear, I’ll laugh at you
Loser who’s inside a game called love
Get on your knees and take me back
If not, get out of my sight right now

I don’t care, I’ll stop caring about what you’re doing wherever you are
From now on I really don’t care, I’ll get out of the way
From now on don’t come to me and cry, and cling on

C-Real’s Solution:

Again, again I meet you and smile
Again, again, I cry as I wait for you
You’re always this way and that way
Everything is upside down, inside out
Your every expression makes me feel up and down

I’m not lying – yes, I guess I’m a fool without you
Every day and every night I think about you
If I don’t kiss you, I can’t fall asleep

Please wipe my flowing tears                                                                                                   Please warmly hug me                                                                                                              That’s all I want but why do you pretend not to see me                                                                      But you know my love But you know my love                                                                              If only you will hug me like the first time                                                                                       Will you tell me every day that your love is only me

It could just be the personality of 2NE1 that makes them so strong, but as I am going through my own break up with a Korean guy, I often feel like C-Real~ I just really want him around again. I should be strong like 2NE1!

Chemi (18), Re Dee (17), Effie (17), Ann J (16), and Lenny (15), the members of C-Real, convey a more vulnerable  feeling in their music video. The landscape is very bright and conveys a sense of innocence.

Trippy place for a Korean wolf :)

2NE1’s video, which is darker as the girl’s go around and catch their men in the suspended act, is meant to convey a sense of toughness as the girl’s repeat that they don’t care about what their man does anymore (because they are through).

I'll get CHU!

I have a suspicion, as I mentioned, that the girls of C-Real might be witches in this video. And I mean it in a positive way…like in a Harry Potter sense :) I definitely think that they were trained to use the crystal ball by VooDoo Mama JuJu :) In other reviews, I read that they were fairies~ yeah, fairies don’t use crystal balls. They did use magic though! They knocked Thunder right on his cute butt when he was spying on them through the keyhole:

Caught you!

Oomph!

There were a lot of question I had about this video though…like, what does the parrot have to do with anything?

Don't Touch Me!

Because he just randomly disappears when Thunder tries to touch him~

NOOOOOO!!!

Also, they don’t show him really cheating or ignoring their phone calls or anything like that. In 2NE1’s video, they caught their men in the act…Most of my questions have to do with the significance of all the scenery…I really did not think this was a cheating video at all.

Overall, I think this video was cute and catchy. What do you think? Was it similar to 2NE1’s song to you too?

About Seoulody

Just ask!
This entry was posted in Compare & Contrast, MV Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

